Jet2, TUI, easyJet and Ryanair: Latest COVID rules for France, Spain, Italy, Switzerland and USA

As the Omicron variant continues to sweep around the world, many countries have already tightened travel restrictions in an effort to curb the spread of COVID.

The new coronavirus strain has been named a “variant of concern” by the World Health Organization (WHO) after it was discovered in South Africa.

A number of popular holiday destinations have now tightened their boundaries despite researchers warning that it is still not clear whether the variant is more contagious, It reports the Daily Record.

Read more: Updated red list as South Africa and nine other countries added

The WHO has called for open borders to remain and notes that the variant has already been discovered in many countries and that border closures often have a limited effect.

Signing up for KentLive Newsletter means you get the latest news directly in your inbox twice a day.

It could not be simpler and it takes seconds – simply click here, enter your email address and follow the instructions. You can also enter your email address in the field below the image on most desktop and mobile platforms.

You can also sign up for our website and comment on our stories by click here and log in.

However, many countries oppose this advice and have begun to ban foreign travelers and reintroduce strict travel restrictions.

Here are the latest travel tips:


The Canary Islands are popular in winter

British travelers who are not fully vaccinated will not be able to visit Spain due to concerns over the new Omicron variant.

All unvaccinated Britons and other EU citizens will be barred from entering the country from today (December 1).

Meanwhile, those from ‘high-risk areas’ will also have to give a negative COVID test when visiting the popular tourist destination.

Spain has also imposed a 10-day mandatory quarantine for visitors from seven South African countries.

Mandatory isolation affects travelers from South Africa, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia and Zimbabwe who arrive in Spain directly or after stopovers in other countries.


Switzerland has announced that it will impose a 10-day quarantine on all arrivals from the UK in response to fears of the Omicron coronavirus variant.

The country’s federal public health authority announced on Saturday that arrivals from the Czech Republic, the Netherlands, Egypt and Malawi and the UK were to present a negative COVID test and self-isolate on arrival.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs has updated its guidelines for travel to Switzerland to clarify the quarantine rules for passengers passing through and going to another country.

“There is no quarantine requirement for travelers arriving in Switzerland from the UK who wish to travel on to another country as long as the journey through Switzerland is less than 24 hours and does not involve a stopover,” reads the update on FCDO’s Swiss entrance. page with requirements.


Italy will allow travelers to visit if they can provide a COVID recovery and vaccination record.

Those who enter Italy from the UK and who are fully vaccinated do not have to isolate themselves.

Visitors must fill out the Passenger Location Form (EU PLF) before crossing the border and show a QR code to be shown to your travel agent and border police.

Those who have not been vaccinated must also fill out a passenger search form and obtain a QR code.

However, travelers must notify the local health department’s prevention department that they have entered Italy.


Visitors arriving from the UK are allowed to enter France as long as they test negative for COVID-19.

However, there are restrictions in place for people over 65 who must have received the third booster jab to visit indoor venues.

Britain is currently on France’s yellow list. France continues to push vaccinations and booster shots.

Travelers who are fully vaccinated do not need a significant reason to travel to France and do not need to isolate themselves on arrival.

Fully vaccinated travelers no longer need to present evidence of a negative test result before the trip.


Austria has been thrown into a new lockdown
Austria has been thrown into a new lockdown

Austria is currently in a nationwide lockdown and hotels are closed to tourists.

The closure has been in effect since November 22 and is expected to remain until at least December 13.

Following the closure of the current closure, rules requiring proof of full vaccination or recovery will be in force again in Austria, as well as mask requirements in many areas.


If you are fully vaccinated with a vaccination approved for use in the EU, you are exempt from quarantine on arrival in Poland.

However, you must present proof of your coronavirus vaccination at the border and it must have been 14 days since your last dose.


UAE (Dubai and Abu Dhabi)

Residents, tourists and visitors traveling from or through the UK and arriving in Dubai and Abu Dhabi must have a negative PCR test before departure and present the certificate at check-in.

These must be taken no more than 72 hours before departure for arrivals to Dubai and no more than 48 hours before departure for arrivals to Abu Dhabi.

Travelers arriving in Abu Dhabi must also undergo a PCR test upon arrival.

Travelers arriving in Dubai may be asked to perform an additional PCR test on arrival and must be isolated until the result is the result.

United States

Statue of Liberty sculpture on Liberty Island in New York Harbor

Fully vaccinated travelers should not be quarantined, but it is recommended to take a viral test within three to five days of arrival in the United States.

Travelers who are not fully vaccinated and are allowed to travel to the United States through an exemption must:

  • take a test within 3 to 5 days of arrival in the United States
  • self-quarantine for 7 days after arrival in the US – even if you test negative (unless you have an exception and are fully vaccinated) if you stay 60 days or longer.


Australian authorities announced they would postpone plans to ease border restrictions by at least two weeks until December 15, after the country reported its fifth case of the Omicron variant.

Officials said the temporary break would ensure Australia prepares for the new strain.

New South Wales and Victoria, as well as the national capital, Canberra, have introduced a general 72-hour quarantine requirement for all international arrivals.


Japan had previously taken action when it said it would suspend the access of all foreign visitors from around the world.

The decision means Japan will restore border controls, as it eased earlier this month for short-term business travelers, foreign students and workers.


Israel has decided to block the entry of foreign nationals and use controversial contact tracking technology as part of its efforts to crack down on the variant.

The Ministry of Health said in a statement that the country’s coronavirus cabinet has approved a number of measures, including red list trips to 50 African countries, bans on entry for foreigners and injunctions for quarantine for all Israelis arriving from abroad.

It also approved the use of Shin Bet’s internal security agency’s controversial telephone surveillance technology to perform contact tracking of individuals confirmed with the new Omicron variant of coronavirus in Israel.


Morocco said it would suspend all incoming flights for two weeks from Monday.

This is among the most drastic of a growing range of travel restrictions imposed by nations around the world as they struggled to slow the spread of the variant.


Give a Comment