DC, Md. and Va. laws coming into force in 2022

New Year’s Day is more than a calendar change in DC, Maryland and Virginia, as more laws come into force in 2022.

New Year’s Day is more than a calendar change in DC, Maryland and Virginia, as more laws come into force in 2022.


DC

DC residents can expect reduced noise from basic care. ONE ban on the sale and use of gas-powered leaf blowers begins Jan. 1 with fines of up to $ 500 for those taken into use by the banned fans.

Restaurants will be banned from dispensing of disposable items, such as napkins, utensils and spices, unless customers request them or use a self-service area.

Meanwhile, on January 15, vaccines will be required to enter DC businesses, including nightclubs and restaurants.

Maryland

Maryland’s minimum wage rate will increase to $ 12.50 for employers with 15 or more employees.

The Maryland Board of Physicians will require one license for genetic counselors and set up a committee for professionals.

Residents of the state who decide to become organ donors will be able to decide whether they want their organs donated for research and education or transplantation and therapy.

Protection against excessive medical debt for low-income residents will begin in 2022 under the law and protects patients earning 200% or less than the federal poverty level, about $ 53,000 for a family of four, the Associated Press reported.

The Ministry of Health will be obliged to provide residents with information material help residents plan long-term care. The law requires that the published material be ready by April 1 and available in English, Spanish, and any other language desired. It also requires materials to be available to people with limited reading skills.

Montgomery County, Maryland

Ezekiel’s law requires landlords to install window screens in homes where children aged 10 and under live, or if a tenant so requests. The bill was passed after Ezechiel Nguemezi, 2, fell from a third-floor window and died in an apartment building in Takoma Park.

On January 12, the county attorney will be required to file a report each year summarizing the details of each settlement entered into by the county. These settlement agreements will then be published on the county’s website and apply to all county agencies and include the police department.

Virginia

The state’s minimum wage on an hourly basis will increase to $ 11 per hour with effect from 1 January.

From January, a Virginia resident who does not have legal documents will be able to get a special identification card through Department of Motor Vehicles – including children. In 2021, they gained eligibility for driving license card.

Alexandria, Arlington County and Fairfax County introduced a tax of 5 øre on disposable plastic bags, which will take effect on 1 January. The money will finance environmental clean-up and education.

All municipal elections for school boards and city councils in Virginia will change from May to November for elections held after New Year’s Day.

Homeowners are aware that their property is a “repeated risk loss structure”- any home with two or more claims over $ 1,000 paid by the National Flood Insurance Program since 1978 – must disclose this fact to a purchaser and provide forms to the Property Board.

NBC Washington reported that local school boards need to create and adopt policies so that school staff can administer albuterol inhalers to students who “in good faith are believed to need such medication.” The law would exempt those who administer the medicine from liability. Students will also be able to possess and use their own “inhaled asthma medication or auto-injectable adrenaline.”

NBC Washington also reported that liability insurance amounts will increase from $ 25,000 to $ 30,000 in “case of bodily injury or death of one person”, and from $ 50,000 to $ 60,000 in “case of bodily injury or death of two or more persons.” More details are available here on the state government website.

Public colleges and universities in Virginia can no longer ask questions of criminal history in recording materials and applications. Nor can they use material from third parties to deny anyone access because of their criminal history. There are exceptions to this law: Virginia Military Institute and public law schools accredited by the American Bar Association. Universities can still ask about criminal history after an applicant has been sent an offer and can withdraw offers if they determine that someone poses a security risk.

The WTOP’s Ivy Lyons, Matt Small, Shayna Estulin, Jessica Kronzer and The Associated Press contributed to this report.

Like WTOP on Facebook and follow the WTOP further Twitter and Instagram to participate in conversation about this article and others.

Get the latest news and daily headlines delivered to your inbox by signing up here.

© 2022 WTOP. All rights reserved. This website is not intended for users within the European Economic Area.

Give a Comment