COVID live updates: New Omicron variant calls for tightening of Australian quarantine for travelers from South Africa

The United States suspends travel from eight South African countries


The United States will block entry for most travelers from eight South African countries next week, President Joe Biden said Friday.

The restrictions, which take effect on Monday, do not ban flights or apply to U.S. citizens and residents, according to a Biden administration official.

The restrictions apply to South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Mozambique and Malawi.

Most non-US nationals who have been in these countries within the last 14 days will not have access to the United States.

“As a precautionary measure, until we have more information, I will order additional flight restrictions from South Africa and seven other countries,” Mr Biden said in a statement.

“These new restrictions will take effect on November 29. As we move forward, we will continue to be guided by what science and my medical team advise.”

Another administration official warned that the United States could add countries to the restriction list if the variant was spread.


Follow us on Google News

Disclaimers for

All the information on this website – – is published in good faith and for general information purposes only. does not make any warranties about the completeness, reliability, and accuracy of this information. Any action you take upon the information you find on this website (, is strictly at your own risk. will not be liable for any losses and/or damages in connection with the use of our website.

Give a Comment